University Nightmares

Its first day of second semester and all students meet once again. We all started talking, there were few more students who had failed. I am already feeling devastated about this outcome and fees to be paid.

Initially when I joined university I met some of the senior students in the same course who were ahead of me by 1 or 2 semesters. They used to speak indirectly that this university is not good. They also told me that universities in Australia can only make money if they have constant flow of international students. This is so because, locals don’t normally study till university level and international students also pay higher fees. As I mentioned in my earlier posts Universities make most of their income from international students and this industry is one of the biggest for Australia too. All of this information didn’t make much sense to me in earlier days.

One of the fellow students also told me that sometimes universities fail students intentionally so that students keep paying the fees and their revenue stream continues. I never believed this until this situation came to me. I thought this may be case with me too.

Here I am facing this situation and discussing with seniors and other fellow students. One of them tells me now you know what we all have been through. As it uncovers almost every one of them had failed in one or the other subject in past. Now it could be they are bunch of idiots or it is actually university doing this, I still don’t know. I have totally lost interest in studies and start to doubt this university. I am just feeling depressed thinking where have I come, people are saying university isn’t good, there are money issues and now even bigger worry about what if they fail me in second semester. It will be disaster in my life.

With lots of doubts about university, I asked my seniors what if we want to change university; we can just go to any university isn’t it. This uncovers another hurdle. There is a visa clause on student visa that we can’t change university in first 12 months of study. This means we are totally in hands of university and vulnerable to their tactics. So I thought, we can change university after 12 months without any restrictions, yes? To this they said as long as my progress is at-least 60% and my attendance is at-least 80%. This was also my visa requirement which I didn’t know initially. I did some research with immigration and found out everything is true. I am gradually inclined to change university after constantly listening to some horrible experiences of other students.

With lots of worries and financial stress, second semester is about to end soon. Its exam time and because of all the worries about university failing intentionally, I am feeling there is no point studying if they are going to fail me. Anyway with these thoughts I appeared in exams and didn’t really prepare well. With no preparation and expectations of failure I have appeared in exams and waiting to see what happens next. Another semester is over; I am carrying on with my routine of work and saving money for fees.

This time I have managed to save most of my fees, but I still will be short by little bit. I have asked once again my parents if they could help with anything they can. They are already struggling with finances and getting worried about my expenses day by day.

Results are out for second semester, surprise; I have passed all the subjects. I am now even more surprised because I didn’t study well and knew that I didn’t do well in the exams but still passed. Anyway passing is still good news but I have now lost interest in this university and their studies.

I have started discussing options of changing university with some senior students. They told me don’t ever speak to university official that you want to change university. They get really upset and start doing nasty things like failing you in every assignment and exam so overall result will fall below 60% and also fudge attendance records below 80%. This would mean I can’t change university and possibly be sent home by immigration because of poor progress. As soon as I heard this I felt this is all evil and holding someone to ransom. They cannot play with someone’s life and career here all for money. Although this university was accredited by government and other bodies, it was just unbelievable to see these internal tactics. Overseas students couldn’t do anything to stop this because of financial constraints and legal issues that come along with it. Also people who come here want to build a life not get in trouble which they can’t afford. I am now feeling that this university is controlling my life and I don’t know when I will be free from this financial burden. I am feeling miserable and vulnerable. This is unbelievable how a university can control overseas student life.

On a separate note, the money that was stuck in second job has now started coming back as other colleagues and I kept on threatening the company of legal action. Every penny will help me in paying university fees.

I am now even more determined to get out of this university by any means I can. I am sick of their tactics and nasty games they play holding students career and money on ransom. I have discussed with some senior students and I am making a full proof plan of getting out of this university without informing them. There are few more students who are planning like me…