University Exams and Fees

I took some time off from work to prepare for exams. This was the first time I am appearing in exams overseas. It’s still the same exam, similar class rooms, it just another location. They also offer multiple supplementary or notepads, students keep writing as much as they feel. Exams went well. I am quickly back to work to earn and save money for fees.

There is break of 3 weeks before next semester starts. This is the only time when I can work full time, earn as much as I can and save for university fees.

With previous three months of lost income and debts, I am already behind in my saving targets. Even if I work full time, I probably won’t be able to save enough money. I still have to put my best efforts in and requested manager to give me as many shifts as he can. I have started working long hours and 7 days a week to collect money. Fees payment due date is approaching fast and so are results.

I have already given heads up to parents that I might need some money to cover short fall I may have in fees.

First and the biggest shock comes, in an utterly unbelievable outcome, I have failed in one of the subjects.  The subject I have failed in is Accountancy. This is the first time in my life I have failed. Although I have been an average student, but I always managed to pass and never thought about failure. This is so unbelievable and unthinkable that I request university to show me my result and meet the lecturer who did scoring. I am in total state of shock; still thinking how can I fail when I studied in commerce and accounting for last 4 years. I actually taught my fellow students who were from arts and science background. They passed well and I was the only one failing in this subject.

I am just thinking lecturer made an error and wait for his appointment to meet and see my marks.

After 2 weeks, I rushed from work to meet lecturer and see my results. As I met the lecturer, he didn’t remember me by name but by face and quickly reacted oh it’s you and how come you failed. I said well that’s what I need to see.

He pulled out my exam results and tells me I have only scored 5 marks in exam. This is just unbelievable and I start to challenge him on the solutions to questions. I said they don’t show solutions, to this I asked how do I know my answers are incorrect then. He then tells me, well we can just show you your result but outcome won’t change. As I was discussing and challenging everything, I felt little fishy in lecturers reactions to too many things. I just didn’t believe things were right. I kept arguing for 2 hours and lecturer said, outcome is you have failed and you will have to repeat this subject again. This means I have to pay fees for this once again.

I am now completely shattered walking out of university, thinking what have I done wrong I still can’t understand. I am already in so much stress of making a living and saving for fees, I just didn’t need another blow in my gut. This failure meant, I have to earn more for fees of this subject. With so many worries, I broke down in tears for the first time in Australia. I was just totally lost and started questioning whether I made the right decision to come to Australia.

With total disbelief and sad moods, I am back to work. I still can’t believe I failed.

It’s time to pay fees; I could only manage to save for 1 subject and had to request fees for other 3 subjects from parents. To this parents are already stressed out thinking this wasn’t as per the plans. I haven’t told them about my results. Parents are now more worried about finances and asking me whether I will be able to manage my living and my next semester. They definitely cannot afford and have no money to fund next semester. I just don’t have any way out any more.

I am feeling even more worried about money and still in disbelief about my results.

Work life continues and I am now back to University attending second semester.

As soon as I told my result to other fellow students another shock comes out…